Black baldie crosses

Help Support CattleToday:

Ashton V

Reaction score
Sorry that this is probably a stupid question but im new to all this. If you cross a homozygous black gelbvieh or limo bull to hereford cows, would you come out with a black white faced calf like in a angus/hereford cross?

The key word here is Homozygous. Make sure the bull has been tested for that or you are in a crap shoot with every calf.

BTW if you are doing this as you say make sure that whatever bull you use has a good milk EPD

You don't have the crap shoot if you use a true black bull like Angus or stabilized composite like Brangus. The other blacks are just Angus genetics that are trying to sell a composite breed as the real thing.

Caustic Burno":21fmu598 said:
You don't have the crap shoot if you use a true black bull like Angus or stabilized composite like Brangus. The other blacks are just Angus genetics that are trying to sell a composite breed as the real thing.
That's why he specified homozygous black. Not all angus are homozygous black, but there is a btter chance with one then with the others unless they are proven to be homo black

Caustic Burno":gorb0fe2 said:

Genetically tested for Homo blk is homo blk regardless of the breed. Why argue that point? And maybe he is looking for something besides FREAKIN ANGUS.

3waycross":3k77p0k4 said:
Caustic Burno":3k77p0k4 said:

Genetically tested for Homo blk is homo blk regardless of the breed. Why argue that point? And maybe he is looking for something besides FREAKIN ANGUS.

Exactly. As long as the bull is homo black, does breed really come into the color factor? Even if it is a cross bull? The reason i am asking is to mix it up a bit instead of just angus/hereford. I would like to get some gelbvieh or limo in the mix somewhere. Really wouldn't mind getting some simmental in there either. Just trying to look at my options.

3waycross":3mqvbj2e said:
Caustic Burno":3mqvbj2e said: