Another Question on Concealed Carry ?

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
First I have to preface my question with a few statements.

1- I own several (more than 10) firearms. Combination of rifles and pistols. Some are Collectibles.
2- I cannot say that I am a gun collector or enthusiast
3-The majority of these guns are inherited.
4- I do not shoot on a regular basis, nor do I hunt any longer.
5- None of these are registered. Some are considered antiques or war bring backs, but they are all operational.
6- If I had to use one for protection it would be a nine mm 1937 S/42 Luger.
7- I am a veteran and stand strongly behind our Constitution and the 2nd Amendment

Now on to my subject.
Although I do not carry, and have no intention of doing so, I was recently solicited by my American Legion Post to participate in a Concealed Carry course that was being held at the local post. My first thought, immediately, was too sign up, due to it perhaps not being available in the future. ( Why do I need it if I'm not going to carry ? )
Kicked it around for a couple of days and I got to thinking. If I sign up and attend this course , and get the license, I am now on a govt list somewhere and Big Brother knows that I have weapons in my house. I personally would prefer that they don't have this information so I've elected to do without the permit. I do not want the "Gestapo" knocking on my door, and I think it will come to that, tho maybe not in my lifetime. "read Old F*rt"

Give me your thoughts on this topic. Is my train of thought off base? I know that many of you have a carry permit.

First off I do have a permit and have had for several years. Also I carry every day.