Which way do you swing?

Help Support CattleToday:

TheFutureFarmer

Reaction score
Just curious as to why people chose the cow-calf/seedstock, stocker/grazer, or feedlot type of cattle business. Is it way of life? Money? Grew up in it?

For me this is the 3rd year I have farmed, with stocker calves on pasture the past 3 summers. I chose this because I am busy with college most of the year and the summer is the only time I really have to farm. Might switch to cow-calf years after I graduate.

I have been doing cow/calf for about 23 years now, I think a lot of people's choices come down to the land and feed they have available to them. I would like to start doing grass-fed finishing, and might hold a couple steers over the winter to test out the waters. It certainly is a way of life for me, and I did grow up in it, Money, well, it'll pay the bills if you keep your belt tight.

I always wanted my own herd. Growing up I worked with my cousins and their herds. No money in it for me, but I plan on leaving a good herd for my son. To me nothing beats seeing a new born calf and it's mom bonding together.

Cow calf.

No money so we went to the sales and bought one or two that nobody wanted. Brought them home, wormed and vaccinated and threw them out with a bull to eat. Now we have quite a nice herd.

Cow/calf. Nurse cows.

Input versus output. Capital expenditures. Versatility.

Buy some stock in Kleenex. That way when you cry your eyes out one year, it won't be a total loss! :D

I have survived severe drought. Moderate drought. Floods. Survived being burned out with 3 barns lost and all the fencing too (most disheartening of all).

I try to put my eggs in several baskets.

Cow/Calf, year six.
Love animals, love the outdoors and had some acreage to utilize. I get as excited (maybe more!) about calving season as I did Christmas as a kid. :cboy: