New AI Tech

Help Support CattleToday:

RisingCreekHerefords

Reaction score
Hello all. I recently got my AI certification. I will be the first to admit that I am NOT that good at it yet. I need practice. However, I don't have many of my own that are open for me to breed or at least practice on. I have offered to breed others at cost or split the cost but so far, no one wants me practicing on their cows. Does anyone have any other ideas how I may get some practice under my belt?

Thanks!

Most folks are not going to be willing to pay you to practice on their cattle. Might let you try it for no charge "once" . Open cattle put folks out of business.

How do you get some sort of certification if by your own admission that you are not real good at it? Sounds like every child player receives a prize sort of thing. If you are wanting to improve I would start off by buying in a few open cows and run them in each day and just practice. Once you gain confidence friends may want you to do some of their cows.
Ken

I'm not looking to charge anyone until I can get a little practice under my belt. Buying open cows isn't an option or I would just go do that and breed them for myself. Problem solved. But I can't. I don't mind to share cost with an owner. But I can't repeatedly buy cidrs, hormones, semen, etc for other people's cows. Ken, I would like to know how many people you think would be a professional at AIing after going through 3 days to a week of school. I'm very much capable of passing everything to get my certification. I'm assuming by your thoughts you would let a doctor a week out of school preform an invasive surgery or a dentist fresh out of school to preform a root canal on you hours after graduation. Everyone has to start somewhere. So, despite your thoughts, i'm not incompetent and passed my certification with skill. Thank you very much.