AI and Preg Checking Your Own Cattle

Help Support CattleToday:

Twisted

Reaction score
How many members here do their own AI and Pregnancy Checking of their herds? How accurate are you? Did you start out that way or improve or falter after some experience?

How many members here do their own AI and Pregnancy Checking of their herds? How accurate are you? Did you start out that way or improve or falter after some experience?
I took classes to do both. Never got good at AI.
Took preg check class last spring. I haven't done it enough yet to get good at it. But can tell if a cow is bred or open.

I A.I. but have vet do fall vaccinations and preg check. He buys 3-4 bulls a year from us for his family ranch down in Kansas and does text consults when I have issues needing immediate attention. I would like to sleeve up and check a few when we preg check so I can learn to check the odd one myself before hauling to the auction barn.

Being a Veterinarian I guess I have a leg up with it however I never did much preg testing in cattle during my career, probably had more experience with horses. I didn't do any AI work either. I've never felt I was good at knowing what was happening in there and probably have been too gentle. I always remember at Uni a fellow in our prac group put his finger through a horses rectum and of course it died so that put the wind up me a bit. I started inseminating my cows about 16 years ago and I used to miss quite a few but each year I have improved, last year I think was my best year out of 50 inseminations I only missed one of them and strangely when I checked them I am pretty sure she has conceived to the AI so I might be better than I thought. I am rising 73 now so I can't expect to continue improving though with experience you tend to develop techniques to overcome the weakness you get in your hands with age especially with some of the big old cervixes. Some years they seem easier to do than others and I think this is related to the season and