Preg test

Help Support CattleToday:

cowgirl8

Reaction score
Going to give it a try this year. I can go through and pick out the ones i can tell now just by looking and that will save us a few test. Anyone do these blood test?

Going to give it a try this year. I can go through and pick out the ones i can tell now just by looking and that will save us a few test. Anyone do these blood test?
We Bio-PRYN blood tests on the spring calving cows. We did 120 back in September. Fairly happy with the results. I typically find that the cows that come back "open" just aren't bred far enough along for the test to register.
If a tight calving window is important, then cull those cows even if they are short bred. Otherwise wait a couple months and repreg the open ones.
I've been using the blood tests for seven years. Never had an issue.

if your cows are well beyond the minimum 28 days, the test should be reliable enough to be trusted. I was testing in the 28-45 day range and had too many inaccurate results. both open cows testing bred and pregnant cows test open. I no longer use the blood test for pregnancy testing. Hope you have better luck.

Be aware of the timing for Biopyrn. Test a month or more after breeding or after the bulls are pulled from the pasture. And 3 months or more after their previous calf was born. The test looks for a specific protein that is produced by the placenta. If the cow has recently aborted, that protein can still be present in the blood and can result in a false positive. The test is supposed to be 97% accurate overall and 99% accurate in detecting open cows (1% testing false open). Not 100% accurate, but neither is palpation. Aggressive palpation "might" result in an abortion, which should not occur with the blood test.