best weight for butchering

Help Support CattleToday:

larry

Reaction score
i have an angus bull calf thats around 650 -700 lbs. what is the best weight to butcher and what would be the correct thing to finish his feeding off with . I plan to age him around 25 to 30 days for tenderness.

For the most part alot of this is personal preference. I am no expert on this, but I would turn that bull into a steer, get him up to anywhere from 900 to 1100 lbs. I'd be inclined to "finish" him about the last 60 - 90 days on grain (corn, soybean meal,a club calf type sweetfeed, whatever your choice) and free choice hay and water (pretty much no grass). I would have him hang no more than 20 days. Just my personal choice. Many people do this many different ways.

Katherine

larry":qa6ef982 said:
i have an angus bull calf thats around 650 -700 lbs. what is the best weight to butcher and what would be the correct thing to finish his feeding off with . I plan to age him around 25 to 30 days for tenderness.

If ya hang that critter 25 to 30 days you may lose more than its worth. That is an awfully long time. I know my butcher would charge a pretty good fee to do that and would probably advise against it. You see, another term for "aging" would be decomposition. A more descriptive word would be rotting. :???: Even in a cooler there is a limit on what ya can get away with. If proper feed is administered, 14 days should be plenty of hang time for any steer. Some claim rolled milo makes beef more tender. Mine get pure cracked corn and good brome hay for the last 70 days or so of their lives. Never had any complaints on taste or tenderness either one. Good luck.

There is a thread entitled "How long should I let her hang" that you should probably look at.

george