Best Age?

Help Support CattleToday:

LandandVine

Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to cattle and have about 30 acres fenced in the southern part of Indiana. I am looking to start small and get some cattle but, I am not sure what age or size cattle to hunt for? My neighbor told me to get two cow calf pairs to start but someone else told me to get about 5 yearlings of the same breed and let them grow. Can anyone provide some guidance? These are beef cattle that I intend to raise and sell for profit.
P.S. I have a multiple water sources a big barn and source of feed.
Thanks

I would go with the five yearlings. My first improvement would be some sort of handling facility, a way to catch and doctor them. After a few learning adventures with the yearlings, I would go with buying smaller calves on such a small property, especially since you have a barn.
The need for a bull or A. I. and potential calving difficulties would make me want to avoid cows at first.

I would go with the five yearlings. My first improvement would be some sort of handling facility, a way to catch and doctor them. After a few learning adventures with the yearlings, I would go with buying smaller calves on such a small property, especially since you have a barn.
The need for a bull or A. I. and potential calving difficulties would make me want to avoid cows at first.
Thank you for the insight, my neighbor doesn't always make the best decisions or give the best advice, so I am leaning toward the yearlings. This is a learning adventure, thanks again.

I will agree with getting yearlings as long as you're going to keep them for a while and sell them instead of breeding the heifers and letting them have calves.. Someone new to cattle and first calf heifers is a bad combination.
Rafter,
Yes, I was planning to keep them about a year for learning and then sell them for a (hopeful) profit. Thank you for the advice. So far, it's a 3:1 vote on yearling over pairs.

Hello,