Vermeer 504r Classic Baler

Help Support CattleToday:

A.J.

Reaction score
Does anyone here have any experience with the 504r Classic balers? Evidently they are the model that replaced the Rebel. Our local dealer has a pretty good deal on one on their lot, and we're considering trading our old Super I in on it. Thanks for any info.

It looks like a very good baler. I like the fact that it has a wider pickup and make it easier to rake a wider windrow without the hay piling up between the wheels and balling up. That is the problem I have with the 5410 balers I have. That is the windrows became to wide and thick. The hay will get behind the tucker wheels and stop the baler from rolling.

I have zero operating experience with one, but have looked them over on the dealer's lot a couple times. I don't like the look of all of the space between the belts, not sure why they put 5 belts on that model instead of the normal 6? How much are you really saving by eliminating one belt?

What kind of pricing are you seeing on the Classic, and have you checked on the next model up in the series - the Signature baler?

hurleyjd":2io8couk said:
It looks like a very good baler. I like the fact that it has a wider pickup and make it easier to rake a wider windrow without the hay piling up between the wheels and balling up. That is the problem I have with the 5410 balers I have. That is the windrows became to wide and thick. The hay will get behind the tucker wheels and stop the baler from rolling.

I've run into the same thing with our Super I. Hay can get jammed up and stuck under the hay saver wheels and I have to back up to get the wad out.

cfpinz":6mu7j1dc said:
I have zero operating experience with one, but have looked them over on the dealer's lot a couple times. I don't like the look of all of the space between the belts, not sure why they put 5 belts on that model instead of the normal 6? How much are you really saving by eliminating one belt?