Foods that stir up memories

Help Support CattleToday:

cow pollinater

Reaction score
I was reading the "best fish" topic on the sports forum and I was starting to get mad remembering all the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I used to eat...
When I got married I was working ten to twelve hours a day seven days a week and trying to build a farm on the side. My young wife quit her job(at my insistance) when we found out we had a honeymoon baby on the way. My wife has always been a great cook but it's been a fairly recent revalation for her to see my labor as providing for her as well as myself and respond in kind.
I can vividly remember days where I'd gone for months without a day off and just begging her to make me something to eat and her telling me that I was a grown man and needed to take responsibility for my own hunger. Her way of giving in was to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and they always came with a lecture about how I was a grownup and should cook for myself but she'd do it this time... Nevermind that whole part about her sitting at home all day while I was paying her way. :bang:
I ate at least one peanut butter and jelly sandwich a day for about five years. I still like them... But I can't eat them without feeling like I'm getting the shaft and wondering why I kill myself off for her. Even if I make one for myself I look at my wife and shake my head and think to myself, "you selfish *****" and she's NOT that person anymore.
What are your food inspired memories? Are there things that you can't stand because of the places they take your mind to? Is there stuff you eat till it hurts because of the memories it brings up?

Home made split pea soup and home made bread. once a week on baking day that's what we had. To this day it reminds me what a horrible cook my mother was.

Sounds like you got issues cp. I never would have let it go that long without laying down some ground rules :shock: