Herefords...

Help Support CattleToday:

lakading":3edzhp56 said:
What is your favorite Hereford bull?

Mine or my three. :lol: I like two lines I have had great sucess or luck with. There are two seedstock producers in my area one runs Vindicator/Braxton Giant1 age has gotten to him and I see this resource going away as the kids are turning one of the oldest polled Hereford lines in Texas nearly a 100 years to a black baldy operation, what a crying shame, the other runs Braxton lines.

Edit I have seriously been looking at some Victors as I need some different blood on my heifers, I am moving from the F-1 operation to the F-2 side so my calf crop of the future will be 3/4 hereford 1/4 Brammer.

I liked Feltons 517. We had a couple of very good cows out of him. I also have good memories of Enforcer 107H, probably my all time favorite even though the EPDs are not really good enough for heavy use with today's Herefords.
I have NO direct personal experience with the current hot bulls so really have no favorites there.

The hard part is trying to find old time breeders that are producing a proven line and not chasing the latest Hereford world news bull. I have located several reputable breeders in central Texas. Here comes the problem buying a bull from west and bringing them here they fall a part for a while. Our grass has such a hich moisture content and lower protien value that it knocks them. We have horrible grass to others in the state IMO. We get 60 inches of rain a year which is a problem in itself in what grasses do well here. In a drought of only 30 inches a year you have to dig down till you see a little fellow in a pointy hat and bring moisture from the other side.

its been a few years since i used hereford bulls but i had a couple of glenn debter bulls that i gots some great calves out of and some great F1s momas only got two left full sisters one 15 and 16 years old and still look like young'ns. think it was advance bloodlines. cant remember