What y’all think about these bags 5 year old herford cows

Help Support CattleToday:

Jeanne - Simme Valley said:
they look functional and do not have any fat in them.

Thanks for comment I'm no expert I'm trying to learn all I can about my cattle as I go. It's been a lot of trial and error on some things. I was told Herefords are bad about having bag problems

stage of lactation is critical in judging udders.
They look like they will stay up out of the way and no problems when not in use.
The real test is the first week after calving and I see no reason to expect any problems.

Son of Butch said:
stage of lactation is critical in judging udders.
They look like they will stay up out of the way and no problems when not in use.
The real test is the first week after calving and I see no reason to expect any problems.

These two are supposed to calve nov-Dec according to vet. But I had one that was supposed to calve in oct and she gave me a surprise calf last week

The udders look very functional but since they are dry it is hard to tell. The best time to judge is 1-3 weeks after they calve and any edema has gone out and how the udder is supported up under the cow. Teat size and if there is any major uneveness in the udder....like back teats hanging real low, or one side obviously bigger or more swollen like she has mastitis. Sometimes when a cow has one or more quarters that are non-functioning, they will get larger, and more swollen and even hot as they have mastitis. Sometimes they will have it one year and not the next....some mastitis is environmental and can be caused by real wet conditions etc.