Sires birth EPD vs maternal calving ease of daughters

Help Support CattleToday:

CharlesTotton

Reaction score
I am new to this post but would like to ask a question. Everybody keeps telling me that if you keep daughters out of heifer bulls you will eventually have calving problems. I have even seen it stated on cattle breeders web-sites. We have been doing it for a few years and our experience is just the opposite. My question is,what experience have any of you had? :wave:

Thats one of the OWT based on only looking at direct calving ease. We've done it for the last 15 years since we started with registered cattle. We place as much emphasis on maternal calving ease as direct calving ease. We have cows that have been sired by their own grandsire that are calving ease bulls. The daughter/grandaughters have never had issues calving, their daughters haven;t either. It's like anything else, proper use of the tools available with at least mitigate if not eliminate those types of problems. There are some bulls that all they have going for them is their calving ease, stay away from those unless you don;t plan on ever keeping any replacement heifers.

dun":2ghengx1 said:
Thats one of the OWT based on only looking at direct calving ease. We've done it for the last 15 years since we started with registered cattle. We place as much emphasis on maternal calving ease as direct calving ease. We have cows that have been sired by their own grandsire that are calving ease bulls. The daughter/grandaughters have never had issues calving, their daughters haven;t either. It's like anything else, proper use of the tools available with at least mitigate if not eliminate those types of problems. There are some bulls that all they have going for them is their calving ease, stay away from those unless you don;t plan on ever keeping any replacement heifers.