Santa Gertrudis Bull

Help Support CattleToday:

I'll second Brute. My preference is the Gert x Hereford, but I do also like them crossed with Red Angus.

I will chime in and agree with the others that have said Hereford. I have a few cows of that cross and really like them. I would think that Angus, would work real well too. Santa Gertrudis bulls would seem to me to work ok with about any kind of cowherd

I have got several pictures of Gert cross females. Here are a few:
Gert x Hereford
medium

Gert sired calf on a Charolais cow
medium

Gert x Red Angus
medium

Gert x Angus
medium

Gert x Gelbvieh
medium

Santa Gertridis sired calf out of a Sim-Angus cow
medium

]

Hi thanks for comments. I am still pretty new to rasing cattle. I do it right now just as a hobby but am trying to get to where this becomes a little more profitable in the near future. I currently have the 2 yr Gert bull. 1 hereford cow, 1 BrangusXHereford baldie heifer, 1 HerefordXAngus heifer bred to the gert bull due this February, his first. And 1 LonghornXBrangus pair. I am in the market to purchase 2-3 more cows or heifers and looking for some experienced guidance. I was thinking hard about trying to get a couple of reg hereford. Do you think registered is worth it for the small herd? I was hoping y'all would say Hereford was the best choice.

illegal_arm":3ncbbyiq said: