REG ANGUS BULL X BEEFMASTER HEIFERS

Help Support CattleToday:

RPanguscattle

Reaction score
Currently have a Reg Angus bull on about 25 head of angus/brangus cows. Interested in purchasing some young beefmaster heifers to breed to angus bull? wanting some more frame and meat on my cows, What is everyone's opinion? Or should I do vise versa buy BEEFMASTER bull and breed to angus cows? all advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Y'all, Rolly

I do not think that you can go wrong by putting the Angus bull on any of them. I am no expert with crosses, but I would not put a Beefmaster on Brangus cows myself. You may end up with too much leather for your buyers.

Ditto on beefmaster x brangus cross will have too much leather tho you should get some nice females out of that but you will get docked with steers at the sale barn. So stay on beefmaster heifers.

Taurus the leather wont matter in the south they don't dock leather in fact some places they want leather. At some of the local sale barns a straight angus will bring less than a Brahma cross. If you use the right Beefmaster bull you won't end up with that much leather on your calves. I just saw a thing on American Rancher where some ranchers in Florida are using Beefmaster bulls or Brangus cows and getting excellent results. If I was you RP I would get a real good Beefmaster Bull. Not sure about breeders in Florida but if you don't mind a haul Frenzel, ISA, and Buster all have really good bulls that would work for you.

I am well pleased with my calves from beefmaster cows and black angus bull. I had a fine calf born today from a beefmaster cow. These calves have outgrown the angus calves born about the same time. They are ready to be sold in the next few weeks. I am anxious to see how their weight and price compare with the calves from my angus cows. I really like this beefmaster angus cross.

branguscowgirl":1eabhan3 said: