New Calf question...

Help Support CattleToday:

sprinter86

Reaction score
This is my first year with beef cows and everything is going pretty good. The only real question that I have is that a calf was born yesterday afternoon late and the momma has claimed it and everything, but I have yet to see the calf suck. When ever I am in the area I see it get close, but not latch on. Am I worrying to much? It is supposed to be down to 34 tonight with rain so I locked them in a maturnity pen. How long do I wait until I pertrude and try a bottle?

Is it a heifer that had the calf? So far things seem to be going well, and I think it is good that you put them in if you are expecting rain with that cold ~ its hard on the new babies, and preventing problems is more than half the battle. There was a post on this not long ago, I will see if I can find it quick (American Idol is almost on!) and paste it in here. It includes some tips on what you might could do. Good luck!
Here it is!
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=63196

Welcome to the board. :welcome:

first just relax. Sometimes it takes calves awhile to get latched on to nurse.
We had our last first year heifer calve today and it took quite awhile for the calf to get up and nurse.

If you are really concerned and the cow is calm enough I would assist the calf in latching on.

Let us know how it goes.