Marshall or Gulf annual ?

Help Support CattleToday:

coon hunter

Reaction score
I will be Broad casting some Rye Grass . Whats the best Seed for grazing pasture Marshall at 43$ for 50LB or Gulf Annual at 36$ for 50 Lb? All that I've ever used was Gulf Annual but I'm willing to change if the Marshall does better for the Money .

I buy either from Dekalb Co op in Rainsville or Jackson co op in Scottsboro. I have bought from Murphy Seed out on lookout . He's close to Dogtown .

Need to put it on your id so we know where you are . Usually helps in answering questions. I have no experience with gulf rye . We plant 40-50 acres for hay not grazing. If you can cut it at the right stage it's mighty good hay !

Need to put it on your id so we know where you are . Usually helps in answering questions. I have no experience with gulf rye . We plant 40-50 acres for hay not grazing. If you can cut it at the right stage it's mighty good hay !
Interesting. I've never tried to hay rye grass. At what stage do you cut it?

I just purchased a 30 acre Bahia grass hay meadow. I wonder if I can overseed it with rye grass and get a cutting in the spring before the Bahia starts to come back? I'm in Southeast Texas near Wharton, so probably a similar climate to you.

We try to cut it with the seed heads still green , if the weather/ rain puts you late it gets pretty stemmy like wheat straw . I would say yes on overseeding. Have a friend that is in the hay business. He plants triticale and adds crabgrass seed . His first cutting is the triticale and he may get 2 cuttings from the crabgrass.

I will be Broad casting some Rye Grass . Whats the best Seed for grazing pasture Marshall at 43$ for 50LB or Gulf Annual at 36$ for 50 Lb? All that I've ever used was Gulf Annual but I'm willing to change if the Marshall does better for the Money .
Well, for the money, Gulf.