Looking for a 29-35hp tractor

Help Support CattleToday:

OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
20,147
Reaction score
369
Location
Free Rent ,VA
Hard to imagine a dealer letting a hood like that off of their lot on a new machine. If they don't have another tractor to swap hoods so you have a good one, have them knock of 1K and take it to a body shop. They can fix that pretty easily.

The tires and wheels will have to changed. R1's won't fit on R4 wheels.
Yep called me told me wheels will be in next Wednesday and there looking at what to do about hood
 

D2Cat

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
1,331
Reaction score
678
Location
50 miles south of Kansas City
Looks like a project! Some tractors are easier to get it setup then others.

I've got a Kubota L4240 and I ordered the Kubota 3rd function. Took several weeks to get it, and that was a couple of years ago. When I saw what was required to connect the hydraulic lines I let the dealer install it.
 

Atimm693

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
840
Reaction score
180
Looks like a project! Some tractors are easier to get it setup then others.

I've got a Kubota L4240 and I ordered the Kubota 3rd function. Took several weeks to get it, and that was a couple of years ago. When I saw what was required to connect the hydraulic lines I let the dealer install it.

You could get an electric diverter valve and split the bucket cylinder circuit to run a 3rd function. Just need to run wires up the loader instead of hoses. Those valves aren't real high, would need a couple short hoses, couple tees, quick couplers, and a couple adapter fittings most likely.

I rigged a pair of them onto our JD 4430, it has a loader on it all year, joystick kit is expensive and complicated, and unhooking the loader to run an implement every time was a pain since the loader needed to stay up, can't disconnect under pressure. Now the loader stays connected permanently, flip a switch in the cab to go from the loader to SCVs.
 
OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
20,147
Reaction score
369
Location
Free Rent ,VA
You could get an electric diverter valve and split the bucket cylinder circuit to run a 3rd function. Just need to run wires up the loader instead of hoses. Those valves aren't real high, would need a couple short hoses, couple tees, quick couplers, and a couple adapter fittings most likely.

I rigged a pair of them onto our JD 4430, it has a loader on it all year, joystick kit is expensive and complicated, and unhooking the loader to run an implement every time was a pain since the loader needed to stay up, can't disconnect under pressure. Now the loader stays connected permanently, flip a switch in the cab to go from the loader to SCVs.

The wr long kits straight forward like the valve kit for dummies I'm not smart enough to do the other. I have found in the years of my cutting corners and trying to save a dollar or two often in my case often leads me to paying more and spending more time on something vs paying lil extra getting everything and fix and move on. I am envious of those that have that ability and knowledge of those kinds of things.
 

jltrent

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
4,860
Reaction score
734
Location
Virginia
Sky I hope in the end you get everything worked out. The wrong tires, the damaged hood, getting that contraption 3rd spool mounted. About like some of the luck I have had.
 

Atimm693

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
840
Reaction score
180
The wr long kits straight forward like the valve kit for dummies I'm not smart enough to do the other. I have found in the years of my cutting corners and trying to save a dollar or two often in my case often leads me to paying more and spending more time on something vs paying lil extra getting everything and fix and move on. I am envious of those that have that ability and knowledge of those kinds of things.

For sure, convenience and knowing what you got will work is worth quite a bit.

But for those tractors that don't have a kit available, it can still be done with some off the shelf parts.
 
OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
20,147
Reaction score
369
Location
Free Rent ,VA
For sure, convenience and knowing what you got will work is worth quite a bit.

But for those tractors that don't have a kit available, it can still be done with some off the shelf parts.
Wr long usually has a kit for most tractors. Each kit is custom for the loader it's going on which is good.
 
OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
20,147
Reaction score
369
Location
Free Rent ,VA
Finally got here today... I have already put the long 3rd function kit it's extremely easy took 30 mins need to get BLK zipties though.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210602_131221515.jpg
    IMG_20210602_131221515.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 5
  • IMG_20210602_131226881.jpg
    IMG_20210602_131226881.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 7
  • IMG_20210602_080351930_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20210602_080351930_HDR.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 8
  • IMG_20210602_075249574.jpg
    IMG_20210602_075249574.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 7
  • IMG_20210602_075245305.jpg
    IMG_20210602_075245305.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 6

D2Cat

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
1,331
Reaction score
678
Location
50 miles south of Kansas City
Sky, that's nice. When you get the hang of moving the tractor and the buttons and the loader at the same time you'll be able to push up a pile, grab and go like you are pulling into a fast food restaurant to order during lunch hour!
 

jltrent

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
4,860
Reaction score
734
Location
Virginia
Finally got here today... I have already put the long 3rd function kit it's extremely easy took 30 mins need to get BLK zipties though.
That looks like a very nice setup. That 3rd spool mount at the loader bucket is handy. Your garden in the background is looking good also. Currently getting a good rain and yesterday evening got a chance to work in the garden some. If it gets to looking better I will get a few pics.
 
OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
20,147
Reaction score
369
Location
Free Rent ,VA
Sky, that's nice. When you get the hang of moving the tractor and the buttons and the loader at the same time you'll be able to push up a pile, grab and go like you are pulling into a fast food restaurant to order during lunch hour!
Thanks I am getting good practice I'm moving telephone poles and piling brush it's raining so it has slowed me down.
 
OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
20,147
Reaction score
369
Location
Free Rent ,VA
That looks like a very nice setup. That 3rd spool mount at the loader bucket is handy. Your garden in the background is looking good also. Currently getting a good rain and yesterday evening got a chance to work in the garden some. If it gets to looking better I will get a few pics.
Thanks that 3rd valve is a must have. I put that urea down in time and this rains waking it up. I need to see if anything is growing veggie wise
 
OP
skyhightree1

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
20,147
Reaction score
369
Location
Free Rent ,VA
One last important feature added
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210603_094619378.jpg
    IMG_20210603_094619378.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 3
  • IMG_20210603_094613746_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20210603_094613746_HDR.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 3
  • IMG_20210603_084703653.jpg
    IMG_20210603_084703653.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 3
  • IMG_20210603_083538080_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20210603_083538080_HDR.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 3
  • IMG_20210603_094602954.jpg
    IMG_20210603_094602954.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 3

Latest posts

Top