getting started

Help Support CattleToday:

Auctionman

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to cows and getting started soon. I just bought a house with a barn so have decided to raise some cows. I went to a auction last week to see how things work and am going to buy some Friday morning. I am going to try to get a couple holstein cows and a large beef bull. I want my calves to have the most milk possible. I don't have pasture, but am planning on feeding 10 pounds of corn a day. I was told I need hay, but I think the corn should do. My friend told me only angus is worth buying because they are the best meat, is that true? Will the cows need to be brushed at all? I was also wondering if I could put shock collars on them and use a invisible dog fence? One last question. My wife wants to buy a male horse, do I have to worry about it breeding my cows? If it does what do you do with the offspring? Help me out folks. Thank you.

Auctionman":fzyejf59 said:
Hi, I'm new to cows and getting started soon. I just bought a house with a barn so have decided to raise some cows. I went to a auction last week to see how things work and am going to buy some Friday morning. I am going to try to get a couple holstein cows and a large beef bull. I want my calves to have the most milk possible. I don't have pasture, but am planning on feeding 10 pounds of corn a day. I was told I need hay, but I think the corn should do. My friend told me only angus is worth buying because they are the best meat, is that true? Will the cows need to be brushed at all? I was also wondering if I could put shock collars on them and use a invisible dog fence? One last question. My wife wants to buy a male horse, do I have to worry about it breeding my cows? If it does what do you do with the offspring? Help me out folks. Thank you.

I would re-evaluate the word "soon" if I were you. Take some more time and do some more research.

Who told you they needed hay and why don't you believe them? Do you believe dun?