• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Ford 7600 Fuel Gauge Sender

Stocker Steve

Well-known member
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
10,206
Reaction score
6
Location
Central Minnesota
My gauge always shows empty. The sender located in the lower fuel tank did not seem to work consistently so I bought and installed a new one. The new one ran the gauge needle through the full range when I had it out of the tank an plugged in - - but after I put it into the tank and added fuel the gauge still stays on empty.

The new sender worked again after I pulled it back out... Hard to believe both the new and the old sender have a mechanical problem. :cry:

Any tips?
 

bigbull338

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
16,565
Reaction score
0
Location
texas
the fuel gauge is like that on our 7700.it would stick an then drop down to empty just before you ran out of fuel.but it maybe stuck on empty now.so we just know how long itll run when we fill it up.i doubt if youll get your gauge to working right.
 

Stocker Steve

Well-known member
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
10,206
Reaction score
6
Location
Central Minnesota
Angus Cowman":2snk3bow said:
I would say it isn't your sending unit but you have a short in the wiring system the guage shouldn't have went to full when you had it out of the tank unless you moved the float all the way up

most likely it is a ground problem

To be clearer:

Gauge would go to 1/4 when I moved the old sender float all the way up.
Gauge would go to full when I grounded the wire to the frame.
Gauge would go to full when I moved the new sender float all the way up.
Gauge stays on empty with either the new or the old sender installed inside a full fuel tank. :(
 

1982vett

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
9,240
Reaction score
14
Location
Central Texas
Stocker Steve":2h2193w1 said:
Angus Cowman":2h2193w1 said:
I would say it isn't your sending unit but you have a short in the wiring system the guage shouldn't have went to full when you had it out of the tank unless you moved the float all the way up

most likely it is a ground problem

To be clearer:

Gauge would go to 1/4 when I moved the old sender float all the way up.
Gauge would go to full when I grounded the wire to the frame.
Gauge would go to full when I moved the new sender float all the way up.
Gauge stays on empty with either the new or the old sender installed inside a full fuel tank. :(

Maybe it is the guage or the wiring and not the sender. I've got a Deere I changed the sender on that didn't fix the problem either.
 

cfpinz

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
5,865
Reaction score
2
Location
Virginia
Your lower sending unit should make your guage rise to 1/2, the float and sending unit in your upper tank should take it the rest of the way to full. I have a 7610 that has a loose wire on the top tank, it bounces between 1/2 and Full when the tractor is full.
 

dyates

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
664
Reaction score
0
Location
Winchester, ky
I would say a ground problem. Hot wire (voltage reduced) goes into the gauge. Ground wire from the gauge goes to the sending unit. The second wire coming out of the sending unit should be grounded. On one wire sending units, the unit itself should be grounded... I think.
 

TSR

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
301
Reaction score
0
Stocker Steve":13lf3qtq said:
My gauge always shows empty. The sender located in the lower fuel tank did not seem to work consistently so I bought and installed a new one. The new one ran the gauge needle through the full range when I had it out of the tank an plugged in - - but after I put it into the tank and added fuel the gauge still stays on empty.

The new sender worked again after I pulled it back out... Hard to believe both the new and the old sender have a mechanical problem. :cry:

Any tips?
I might try grounding the tank sending unit-a jumper wire should work. Also the 7600's had a constant voltage regulator in the instrument panel, although I'm having a hard time believing it could cause the problem you are describing. :? I do know it will affect the instrument panel temp. guage. Maybe this will help.
 

Stocker Steve

Well-known member
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
10,206
Reaction score
6
Location
Central Minnesota
dyates":weu11sen said:
I would say a ground problem. Hot wire (voltage reduced) goes into the gauge. Ground wire from the gauge goes to the sending unit. The second wire coming out of the sending unit should be grounded. On one wire sending units, the unit itself should be grounded... I think.

Good tip. I checked the termination and the wire but still nothing showing on the gauge, then I cleaned the battery cables and suddenly it shows 3/8 of a tank :banana:

Since everything is full, the upper tank must have a different sender issue...
 

Latest posts

Top