F-1 Hereford/Brahman Question

Help Support CattleToday:

TXCOWBOY

Reaction score
I am new to register to the site, but visited many times and learned alot. Thank you all.

I'm currently running registered Angus, but ranch next to me is running certified F-1 B/H cross. Naturally, I am curious. I read many threads on F-1 crosses and need some confusion cleared up for me.

What difference do you get from Brahman Sire to Hereford Dam or breeding it the other way? Hereford Sire to Brahman Dam. Mainly want to know what differences will occur. Does the whiteface/tigerstripe look get produced both ways? Heterosis? Hybrid Vigor? Is it influenced in the way you cross?

Also wondering if polled Herefords will have a dominant trait if crossed to Brahman to produce polled F-1 calves.

Thanks

TXCOWBOY":g1zuiebu said:
What difference do you get from Brahman Sire to Hereford Dam or breeding it the other way? Hereford Sire to Brahman Dam. Mainly want to know what differences will occur.

different mothering abilities of each of the breeds. hereford bulls on brahman cows will generally be lower bw calves than the other way around.

Does the whiteface/tigerstripe look get produced both ways?

just as likely either way. not all will be tiger-striped. some will be chocolates or browns.

Heterosis? Hybrid Vigor? Is it influenced in the way you cross?

equal either way.

Also wondering if polled Herefords will have a dominant trait if crossed to Brahman to produce polled F-1 calves.

yes, polled is dominant. if the polled hereford is homozygous polled you should only get polled calves. but.........brahmans have an extra weird horn gene so you could still see some horns but they're usually more like scurs or banana horns.

welcome to the boards.

Thanks for your help txag!