Eastern Redcedar Control - Bow Saw vs. Chainsaw (Do I need a Chainsaw)

Help Support CattleToday:

NECowboy

Reaction score
Hey y'all, I was wondering if I would be able to control eastern red cedars on our property with a bow saw like the below or if I really need a chainsaw? (Wife really does not want me to have a chainsaw where I have little to no experience with one).

We have somewhere between 100-150 red cedars of various shapes and sizes on our quarter. Varying from foot in height to 8-10 feet, trunk diameter miniscule to 8 inches in diameter. Like these:
sig_100411_trees_big.jpg

Will I kill myself using a bow saw or do I need a chainsaw? Have to remove a number of branches before can get at base as you literally need to cut like 1 or 2 inches off ground to get to the point before limbs start. If we had to on the 8 inch diameter cedars (only a few of those), we could hire someone hourly to chainsaw them.

I have ordered the following bow saw from Amazon. I also am ordering the dry wood teeth.

https://www.amazon.com/Bahco-10-30-23-3 ... B0001IX7TW

Read some reviews online and watched some Youtube videos and this looked like one of the best bow saws out there.

Wife is not crazy about me getting a chainsaw. If I did I like the following one with a 20 inch bar:

http://www.stihlusa.com/products/chain- ... aws/ms391/

Have y'all had good experience with bow saws or is it no substitute for a chainsaw and A LOT more backbreaking and time consuming? If I do get a chainsaw, do chainsaw chaps actually work? Trying to answer any concerns my wife would have about me having a chainsaw (would plan on visor/helmet for it).

I guess I forgot to add that I absolutely HATE paying someone for work I could do myself thus IMO paying someone hourly to chainsaw would be ridiculously stupid, but not in the opinion of my wife.

We currently have m5 enrolled in aa azzholes anonymous.
Forgive him ,but don't ignore him . As usual his advice is good.