due dates

Help Support CattleToday:

f4leggin

Reaction score
I had two calves born today, and was not expecting either one yet. One of the cows had been preg checked when I bought her, and the vet said she was 5 months along making her due in March, the other came from a group I bought and I was told March for the group (5 bred cows). I am new to catte, and am wondering if its normal for due dates to not be an exact science. I know these cows were pasture bred last summer. I come from the horse breeding world where we know due dates to the day (not to say they come then). A horse born one month early would be a huge problem, is it the same in cattle? Right now I feel like a complete rookie as I know nothing, and have 4 more that will calve maybe sooner than I thought. I had this grand plan to put up pens and pen the cows so that I could watch them - but for now, they are all out on 120 acres. Thx - Jill

Unfortunately, preg checking is not an exact science. They go by the size of the calf but unless they know the cow very well, the calf could be bigger or smaller and also each stage covers a 3 month period for instance 2nd stage could be months 4, 5, or 6.

We bought a cow on Nov. 21st preg checked in 3rd stage and she just calved today.

We bought 8 cows in 3rd period on Nov. 28th and so far only one has calved (on Dec.26).

I never count on due dates from palpation. They are breed or not, that's about it. But since you own them now you can record heat, and breeding dates. Always keep a pad with you when checking cattle. Record everything on each animal. At the end of every year review and determine weither they are a keeper or not.

novatech":3hp0iqso said:
I never count on due dates from palpation. They are breed or not, that's about it.

You are right on that! We got a new bred cow in early December, confirmed 5 months pregnant, so I was planning for a March/April baby. On January 29 this big boy (70#) arrived (two weeks old in photo):

BullCalf2-17-07d.jpg