CIDRinsertion/syn breeding

Help Support CattleToday:

Farminlund

Reaction score
I have AI'd for many years, so inserting a CIDR seemed like a piece of cake. Not so for me. I found that the CIDR would stay in the gun dispite efforts to dislodge it & leave where I had initially pushed the plunger.

I wiggled the gun, held the "string" but more often found than not the CIDR finally exited the gun about 3" inside the virgina. Although I had pushed the ejection plunger when it was 6-9" inches in. I retried on numerous occassions but did not have different resuults.

This is my first time & what a disappointment - I felt that it went poorly with the CIDR not positioned as it should be - up against the cervix.

I also did one heifer & there was significant blood as well as the above issue of position. I just gave up as the CIDR was inside her & well it seemed given the equipment I had, that's as good as it was going to get.

Why would the gun not complete eject the CDIR? When you use a balling gun it deposites the pill completely. I know that the "wings" are suppposed to hold it in place but that did not happen routinely on my cattle. Why should I not modify the gun to completely discharge the CIDR when I insert it?

Is the near the outside placement going to work? Seems as if they are going to pee on it as it does not appear to past the blader.

Frustrated in VA - not sure if I have wasted much time & effort.

the blood is a warning flag for me and havent seen much of that. someone smarter than me might be able to tell you why.

patience is the key.

when you get a CIDR loaded, make sure is plenty of lube on it. we like to make sure the string is hanging down from the injector. when you go in, angle it up, over the hump and go in easy until it stops.