“Losing Ground” Time to wake up!

Help Support CattleToday:

CattleMan1920

Reaction score
I've been talking about this quite often.

Been talking about upping your game before you become a casualty.

My neighbor is already talking about selling out to develop a subdivision.

This is worth watching.

I see it happening all around me.

http://bit.ly/2EVIKHZ

I think i'ts great. Eventually they will get to the point that enough food can't be raised, and prices will rise. American agriculture is too productive is the reason farmers are broke.

turklilley said:
I think i'ts great. Eventually they will get to the point that enough food can't be raised, and prices will rise. American agriculture is too productive is the reason farmers are broke.

I think most Americans would lose their sh.t if food prices doubled.

The majority of America takes things for granted when it comes to what goes in the pie hole.

turklilley said:

Don't misunderstand my reply. I'm a friend of the farmer. But the majority of farmers in this area are far from broke. They are all riding around in $60-70k trucks with the biggest, prettiest green tractors sitting everywhere, and buying up all the land that they can. Wives have new vehicles, they live in houses that Wall Street would approve of, and more toys than one could possibly enjoy. And most of them work less hours than I do. I'm glad for them. But I've heard enough poor mouthing out of them to last a lifetime. One thing is for sure. The days of the little farmer, 2, 3, 400
acres, is over around here for now. The ones still farming are 1000-5000 acres. Again, that is here. In the Midwest, I've heard of farmers farming as much as 40k acres. They go broke bc there is no possible way to manage an operation that large for a sustained length of time.

By the way, I'm in favor of a reduction in competition. American Ag is very productive and there is a surplus of most commodities. A shortage would be worse. Need to find a happy median.