Whats the Motivation ?

Help Support CattleToday:

goddy

Reaction score
Hi all, Im new to this but not cattle breeding. evaluating etc. Ive been reading the postings and mostly keeping quiet but Ill give it a crack.
I applaud the folk ( especially new breeders) who have been posting pictures of their cattle for comment. Its pretty brave - good on you. But I wonder where people are coming from who give short, uneducated comments like "this bull is crap " and similar.
I see comments from the likes of Doc Harris that are intelligent, well thought out and helpful to the poster but those others are plain ignorant.
If you are a judge of cattle you should be able to find something positive about any animal - if you can't at least give reasons for your negativity.
I fear I may have burned bridges before I built any by writing this but I think it needs saying.
Thanks
Goddy

It is always easier to bash the bad ones than it is to talk up the good ones. You are correct....some of us have been too harsh with many animals. OF course (without naming names) we have had SOME animals that were either mismanaged or were seriously flawed who have appeared on here in recent months where there really was little good too say.

goddy":34krop9g said:
Hi all, Im new to this but not cattle breeding. evaluating etc. Ive been reading the postings and mostly keeping quiet but Ill give it a crack.
I applaud the folk ( especially new breeders) who have been posting pictures of their cattle for comment. Its pretty brave - good on you. But I wonder where people are coming from who give short, uneducated comments like "this bull is crap " and similar.
I see comments from the likes of Doc Harris that are intelligent, well thought out and helpful to the poster but those others are plain ignorant.
If you are a judge of cattle you should be able to find something positive about any animal - if you can't at least give reasons for your negativity.