What to breed my Brockle Face to...

Help Support CattleToday:

Curtis36

Reaction score
Does anyone have any pictures of their favorite cross with black baldy/brockle face cow?

I'm trying to deceide what to breed mine to.

If color is not a factor in your area I would go with a Charolais if she is an easy calver. My :2cents:

Well if its a heifer we are going to keep her cuz I only have a few and I would like a few more... and if it's a bull we sell them privately to friends and family.

Sorry if I sound stupid... I'm new to beef breeds, i'm from dairy stock:)

I was just wondering if there is a preference for what to breed to a baldy/brockle, or if there was an obvious choice. She's a herf/angus

Thanks for the input

Curtis36":2e29fu83 said:
Well if its a heifer we are going to keep her cuz I only have a few and I would like a few more... and if it's a bull we sell them privately to friends and family.

Sorry if I sound stupid... I'm new to beef breeds, i'm from dairy stock:)

I was just wondering if there is a preference for what to breed to a baldy/brockle, or if there was an obvious choice. She's a herf/angus

Thanks for the input
Gelbvieh or Simmenthal

thommoos":1r9te067 said:
Option # 1 terminal go with a char
Option # 2 Get a Gelv for either terminal or replacements.
So why would a char not make a good replacement? Is it because she will always have colored calves?

Char are best known for their terminal characteristics when crossing with the baldies, lots of growth. They will produce a great smoke colored calf. Char mixed with Gerts make great replacements ask middle tenn.

My experience with them and losing calves was not good for replacements. just too much pulling.
Check some of "Hoss's" post about his Gelv's http://www.cattletoday.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=86322
Alacowman could probably answer that question best about the terminal effect of chars.

Chuckie":jiljqoon said: