Value of ford 8N

Help Support CattleToday:

Alan

Reaction score
A mile or so away is a Ford 8N tractor with a for sale sign. I'm a past auto mechanic, rebuilt a few engines, done most everything on the 70's and 80's cars and pick ups in a back yard capacity, some professional. The asking price on the 8N is $1300, so maybe 800 or 900? What's your thoughts on the price and the backyard auto machanic's ability to work on it? It's only possibility is a winter project, it's too small of a tractor for my needs. The tin is good no rust, it runs .... For what ever that means. It's just a possible restore and resale, but not looking for a bunch of bucks, just getting my feet wet in tractors.

Thoughts, thanks,
Alan

Good price if it was here. Most here that run are 1500 and if in good condition can go up to 2500 pretty easy.
Very easy to work on and parts are easy to get. Neat little garden tractor. Tires are biggest expense so look at them.

Alan":10yhsv2g said:
A mile or so away is a Ford 8N tractor with a for sale sign. I'm a past auto mechanic, rebuilt a few engines, done most everything on the 70's and 80's cars and pick ups in a back yard capacity, some professional. The asking price on the 8N is $1300, so maybe 800 or 900? What's your thoughts on the price and the backyard auto machanic's ability to work on it? It's only possibility is a winter project, it's too small of a tractor for my needs. The tin is good no rust, it runs .... For what ever that means. It's just a possible restore and resale, but not looking for a bunch of bucks, just getting my feet wet in tractors.

Thoughts, thanks,
Alan

Cleaned and painted up they bring a lot more here.
Most want one of the little tractor's because grandpa had one to mow there five or ten acres with.
That little 4 cyl Continental wont pull a sick cat out of a culvert.
If I remember right lift capacity was 800 pound's.