Self employment options?

Help Support CattleToday:

ez14.

Reaction score
As some of you know I lost my job earlier this month and have been trying to decide what I want to do next. The idea of working for myself is quite appealing but I would prefer not to go into debt doing it. My experience is mostly in dairy farming and a little in construction (plus I have my dad who has 34 years of experience in construction) I generally excel in anything physical.

A couple ideas I have are doing small welding jobs (Not sure that's a real feasible option as there are several people around who do that)

or making custom concrete coffee tables (could put names, anniversaries etc formed right into the top. Could also do countertops, bar tops etc )

and I like the idea of being a cattle hauler though the cost of getting started could make that one tough

So what are some other ideas?

A lot of father- son sub-contractors around here. From laying flooring, to spray in insulation, some of those two man jobs, that are one or two days of works per job. Pretty feasible to get into with out to much investment.

You might look around and see if anyone needs a partner, or extra boy. Help keep the bills paid till you can work something else out.

HVAC. You don't have to be good at it because there's nothing to be good at, other than good customer service. It will go with what you say you already know. Find a contractor that you can learn the trade from even if you have to work cheap, until you can get licensed. The need will always be there and you will be able to do it in to your late years. You sound like a young man so you will most probably be working for a long time. Good luck!