Rural Internet Options

Help Support CattleToday:

lucky7chief

Reaction score
What are people using for home internet in rural areas? I currently use Radiowire which is a local fixed wireless provider. It's okay but want to know what other options are out there. I have a local company pushing GotW3 which is cellular based. I have seen others like Nomad that are also cellular based.

Last edited:
No wired internet available at my location. I have an installed cellular device from Verizon - like a hot spot installed antenna on the house with a wifi router. I am 3 to 4 miles from the tower so speed is slow. I get 15 Gigs per month at this speed and then it slows down to 600 kbps. Can also use my phone as a hot spot. Same Verizon plan and speed. Signal sometimes fades out momentarily.
Other option available here is satellite, but I have no experience with it. Local electric coop now has permission to provide fiber internet, but will be years before they get it installed in all their coverage area.

We got grandfathered in on AT&T unlimited hotspot. It's the same as other WISP providers. Bandwidth gets eaten up pretty fast with the kids and download speeds are 20-25 Mbps when it's good - normal is 8-10 Mbps. The only wired option is DSL. Won't do satellite due to latency and weather issues. Other WISP providers exist but their pricing is akin to robbery. Fiber is coming from a local provider but I think we're on the wrong side of the road to get access. We use between 1-1.5 terabytes a month through it. Probably closer to 2 terabytes or more if cell phones are included.

I strongly believe broadband of at least 100 Mbps down and 25 Mbps up should be a standard public utility provided to every residence at a low cost.