Resizing a photo for avatar use?

Help Support CattleToday:

cornstalk

Reaction score
Hey gang,

Can anyone give me clear instruction as to the procedure for posting an avatar image?

I found the avatar control board, located under "profile". However am having trouble getting my picture to the required size. If I use my photo editer, and go "smallest", and "lowest quality", I'm still about 84kb. How in the world would I get a picture to 6 kb, and still have it be good enough to see ?

Not that i have tried to get a picture converted into an avatar image - but last week I had to down size a picture for my wife's business & it had to be less that 300 X 300 pixels. When I finished (it was large originally - 1600 X 1000 & 184KB) it was only 17KB with excellent quality (jpeg file). Used Paint Shop Pro software. Jpeg files are smaller than say a bitmap file, I do know that. I am no expert, just a plunker but I did want to let you know someone with as little knowledge as myself first cropped the image, then downsized it to fit her requirements (less than 300 X 300 pixels).
Good luck - I'm sure there will be others with much better advice.

I just resized that 300 X 300 down to the 80 X 80 required for the avitar & the file size dropped down to 3K, well below the 8K max (as i remember the max file size allowed). Think your issue may be the software u are using to modify your image. As I said I am using paint shop pro - I'm sure there are many others that will do the job as well.

Hey Thanks Farminlund;

As you can see,.....I was able to figure out with your help! Didnt have microsoft paint pro, just the plain jane paint, and it wouldnt let me resize any pictures. I was able to find a program that worked, PhotoImpression. 80x80 sure is small, and It doesnt look like the image quite fills the allowed space. However I had trouble meeting the file size requirement. This image is 80x60 , and it still just barely squeaked under 6kb's.