Questions so basic I'm almost too embarrassed to ask

Help Support CattleToday:

Rookie farmer

Reaction score
I feel ridiculous asking such basic questions but I'm totally new to raising beef! We want to keep our freezer stocked so I told a friend I wanted to raise a beef cow. She said I need to get at least 2-3 because they're herd animals.

So my main question is: do you breed the same cow every year until she's no longer able to produce and eat her when she's older? OR do you breed a cow, eat her after she has a heifer, raise that heifer to be bred the next year and continually eat the young momma?

Also, we have a sloped pasture and I was told that is going to make the meat lean and stringy because they'll be getting more exercise... Is that true?

I had a dozen questions I wanted to ask but now I'm drawing a blank. ANY useful tips for a newby would be appreciated :)

Thank you!

They are herd animals nad usually do better with at least 2. What you do isbuy 2 steers around 700 lbs. Feed them grain to put some growth and fat on them, butcher one and sell the other then repeat. Unless the pasture is so steep that they have short legs on one side so they don;t roll down the hill the pasture isn;t an issue. Proper feeding will put a finish on the steer unless it's a breed that doesn;t put on any fat when fed properly or so old that it's too old to do much finsihing (probably 10 years old or so). Sounds like you need to find a more knowledgable mentor for this endeavor.

dun":xc8px0af said: