Opinions on my cowherd

Help Support CattleToday:

WarEagle73

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a long time lurker that finally bit the bullet and created an account. I'm not a true beginner, but I am no expert for sure so I figured this was the best place for this post. I wanted to get some opinions on our small commercial herd.

First, I guess I'll give a little background. My father and I run a few head of crossbred cows in the northeast corner of Alabama on Sand Mountain. Originally, it started out as something dad wanted to use to teach me how to work and responsibility, so my grandfather bought me a couple goats and a bottle heifer from a local dairy. From there it has grown a bit and I've now gone on to college at our state land-grant university and recieved a bachelors in animal science and now working on my masters. All that to say, I want to post some pictures and get some opinions on were we are. I realize that there are differences between book knowledge and real-world application, so I'm always asking producers and industry leaders everywhere I go about what really works.

What I am aiming for is a 1000-1200 lb cow that can wean over 50% of her body weight on grass and some hay in the winter. We have a few cows that fit that and are working on getting rid of the others, slowly.

Now on to the pics:

Cow Herd
DSCF2382.jpg

This is our "foundation" female lol. She is the bottle heifer I raised as a kid and is 17 now. She is way too big in my opinion and just stays because she is a pet.

DSCF2369.jpg
DSCF2367.jpg

5 and her steer. Daughter of the first cow.

DSCF2358.jpg

#6. Out of a $270 bred sale cow we bought in 2002.

DSCF2377.jpg
DSCF2379.jpg

#8 and her steer. 1100 lbs at her heaviest. 354 day average calving interval on 5 calves. She is what I consider to be our best cow. Heaviest and highest selling steers almost every year.

DSCF2356.jpg

#10. Bought from the same producer as #8. Another moderate size cow. very similar to #8.

DSCF2386.jpg