Ideas for this summer

Help Support CattleToday:

dng007

Reaction score
I went through alot of the old post and could not find any topics relating to this one...(if so, im sorry and will look more closely next time if i did miss it)... i am somewhat new to the cattle industry, but it is in my blood. My grand father used to have a cow/calve setup for a long time until he got sick. I told him that i wanted to start getting involved in cattle, and He gave me the idea of starting his farm up again and said he would help in any way i need. My question to everyone who reads this is what would be a manageable and easy learning set up. Hm, that doesn't sound correct, what would be the best way to start i guess is what i am asking...what breed...cow or calves...i have no clue really so if someone could point me in the right direction, that would be great...im sure i sound confusing so feel free to ask me as many questions as need to help my find my way

thanks a bunch
mike

What does your grandfather think? I'd surely pick his brain.

How big is the farm he has? What kind of facilities does he have? What kind of cattle did he run?

Your grandfather sounds excited...and I think that is wonderful. Why not ask him?

Alice

I agree with Alice, see what your grandfather thinks. Then think about what you want and like. Do you like Angus? Charolais? Bramah......? Then have a look around your area, go to a few sales, and see what the more common breeds are in your area, and what sells the best. Then, combine the two. Some of the quieter breeds, that are common in my area, are Hereford, Shorthorn, and charolais. Keep in mind though that you can find good and bad in each breed.