I think someone stole my hay....

Help Support CattleToday:

Rhune

Reaction score
Hey guys.

I have a 23 acre hay field that I have been reconditioning over the past couple of years (made some posts about it on this forum). This was the first year it has been hayed. I am new to the cattle/hay business. I don't own any haying equipment, so I put an add on craigslist looking for someone to cut/buy the hay. I found someone who would cut it all, buy half and take the other half as payment. Seemed like a good couple with nice kids... and they raised horses. I figured horse people cant be bad.

We agreed on a price, shook hands. Nothing in writing.

They hayed the field and left. No payment. No contact. Just disappeared. They didn't return my calls for a month (approximately four-five calls).

I finally found their horse business phone number and called it from a different line. The wife answered, and she was upset (rhymes with missed). She said I had been harassing them. She said some of the hay got wet and they had to burn it and they didn't want to pay for wet hay. I told her to have her husband call me and we could talk about it. That was a week ago.

Not sure what I should do. Call the Sheriff? File something in small claims court? Walk away?

Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks in advance!

Lesson learned. Get it in writing. If it got wet it's their problem not yours. But no paper=no enforcement. You just got took

Verbal agreements can be legally binding in certain jurisdictions. But they are often hard to prove

You can go the small claims route. It's not hard to get a judgement. Collecting on that judgement is another story. I've gotten several judgements against customers but never gotten paid on any of them

hooknline":2g5zjz44 said:
Verbal agreements can be legally binding in certain jurisdictions. But they are often hard to prove
Unless there was an uninterested party that witnessed it you run into "he said-he said"