How many engineers

Help Support CattleToday:

Frankie

Reaction score
I've been reading and hearing for years about the US falling behind the rest of the world in graduating engineers. Just recently, Bill Gates suggested that our government should issue more work permits so high tech companies could import foreign engineers.

But a Duke University study shows us it's not true. Some companies just want to import cheaper labor.

http://www.csmonitor.com/2005/1220/p01s01-ussc.html

There are a few in this family :lol:

My daughter got her degree. While she was at college the foreign instructors were telling her that she was a woman and needed to be home raising babies. I told her to get her engineering degree, then go home and have me some grandbabies.

And here I thought this was going to be a joke about engineers. :D

The study looks to be pretty flawed, but as a practicing professional engineer I can tell you that engineering enrollments have been steadily declining for years and hiring qualified engineers is difficult. Importing foreign engineers doesn't worry me nearly as much as the outsourcing of engineering work to India and Korea that many companies are now doing. It's tough to compete with engineers earning $1.50 an hour. As a nation, we quit manufacturing most things decades ago. If we stop doing the design and intellectual development too, I worry about the future of this great country.

ETF":3c2l165f said:
Importing foreign engineers doesn't worry me nearly as much as the outsourcing of engineering work to India and Korea that many companies are now doing. It's tough to compete with engineers earning $1.50 an hour. As a nation, we quit manufacturing most things decades ago. If we stop doing the design and intellectual development too, I worry about the future of this great country.

We have already gone to electronic signature on design documents.