how do you place your t-posts for barbed wire

Help Support CattleToday:

moloss

Reaction score
my question is how do you run your t-posts with your barbed wire.....seems some run the t-posts so that they are facing out (the bumpy ridged side towards the outside of the fence....fence is smooth on outside and looks real good)....some have the t-posts facing in (the bumpy ridged side in and fence not smooth and doesn't look as good).....some weave the t-posts (alternating facing in and out)......I've done a small expirement down where my land floods along the river with each of the three ways and the weaved barbed wire has done the best against the flood waters....with that being said I am not an expert and would like to know how y'all do your barbed wire fencing and why? thanks for your time Chris.

I am no expert, but I put the barbed wire on the same side as the cows. A lot better because the pressure is on the post and wire instead of the wire and post clips.

highgrit":3fvkxzf0 said:
I am no expert, but I put the barbed wire on the same side as the cows. A lot better because the pressure is on the post and wire instead of the wire and post clips.

Logical thing to do....If cows are on both sides and I'm putting the fence up the wire goes on my side since I'm the one that will probably have to keep the fence. Exception might be if the neighbor has cattle that tend to crawl thru fences looking for better pasture.

highgrit":25l04qw3 said:

Then I put 5000, volts. I don't like messing with fence. Put a good Pharmak, no pushed on post no sticking their head through the fence etc.

moloss":1iwo0id4 said: