Hobby Farmer Newby could use advise

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

First off I'm new to cattle and I'm new to this site, I have been looking for basic answers and I can't really seem to find what I'm looking for so I figured I would ask on a forum all about cattle lol.

So before I ask questions I will tell you my situation. Im bought a house with a small fenced in pasture (fraction of an acre) along with 3 stalls on a barn, story goes is dude before me used temp electric fence for more pasture beyond the sturdy steel poll fence. He had two horses. I was scrolling craigslist when I saw an add for a jersey steer for $300, he was 10 months old, so I figured why not. I didn't have a livestock trailer, ended up using my dads 4x6 trailer that had 4ft lumber all around, I bought a horse stall rubber mat on my way to this guys house to put in the trailer for traction. Surprisingly it worked very well to transport him, I unloaded him in my fenced in area and set up a 40 gal waterer I already had in the barn.

I was excited, I had a steer! Lol. A few weeks later saw another posting on CL for two more cattle at a good price, this time a bull calf and steer, long story short I bought those two lol. There 50% jersey and 50% beef (angus and brama). So now I have 3 bovine in a lot that's less then half an acre lol but 3ft tall grass for them to eat while I came up with a plan lol. A very long story in a two week period I ran over 400ft of chainlink (outside a full time job) I bought off craigslist and T-Post I got from rural King, hand pounded each 8ft Tpost down 2ft, then stretched my chainlink with a lawn mower and spoiler alert, the cows now have 1-1.5 acre of pasture. I was gonna do electric with the chainlink (4ft) but decided not to being the cows didn't test the fence and it saves me like $600.