Dog Bite

Help Support CattleToday:

vetdrchandan

Reaction score
A cow was in heat and bellowing. Nearby dogs were barking on her. One of dog scratches her skin at 3 places with his teeth. The wound was not deep just a scratch. The dog who bite her was definitely not a Rabid dog. He just bite her because of that cow peculiar behavior during heat. My question ----- Should the cow treated like post bite Rabies???? I advised the owner not worry since the dog was not rabid. I also wash the wound with betadine.

I doubt these dogs will just bother ( attack ) your cows just once if let run. Just saying it sounds like a train wreck waiting to happen.

Alan

You did right cleaning it up with betadine. Follow up in the next day or two by taking a temp. If feverish give some antibiotics. Then shoot the dogs.

That dog was a stray dog so definitely he was not vaccinated against Rabies. But that dog is living normal life no any aggressive behavior. What I studied that the rabies virus when comes to saliva of dog than the dog become rabid and have tendency to bite. What I wanna really know that
if Dog is not vaccinated and if he bite any animal just usual and behaves normal apart from that particular bite, Is that bite treated like post bite rabies treatment??????????????

vetdrchandan":3fa2bxag said:
That dog was a stray dog so definitely he was not vaccinated against Rabies. But that dog is living normal life no any aggressive behavior. What I studied that the rabies virus when comes to saliva of dog than the dog become rabid and have tendency to bite. What I wanna really know that
if Dog is not vaccinated and if he bite any animal just usual and behaves normal apart from that particular bite, Is that bite treated like post bite rabies treatment??????????????

What are your laws there regarding this situation ? Why not consult a vet official. If it were here and you could not prove that the dog had been vaccinated against rabies ,it would have it's head cut off and tested .