Bull question!

Help Support CattleToday:

Bill Elliott

Reaction score
From my other posts you know I'm fairly new to this business. I just got a call and now have "inherited" a 2 1/2 year old registered angus bull. The bull is healthy and first calves from him are also healthy. My question is this...I only have 5 cows and that's all I can carry given my pasture land. My calving season starts first week in March. Intuition tells me that these 5 cows can't keep the bull "busy". Will this hurt the bull? I would like to keep the bull but don't know if this is in my best interest. Any thoughts? Thanks....cheers, Bill

I agree it won't hurt the bull but if there are any cowherds within sniffin' distance it'll most likely be hard on your fences and that might hurt the bull. Do you have a hotwire around the perimeter?

While I agree to the posts so far, if you really want to keep the bull, instead of selling, you may want to look into leasing him out to someone with a larger herd. :cboy:

Have semen collected so you can use him to A.I. your cows. Much cheaper than purchased semen. Then sell him. Best of both worlds.

I would look at all the options post here. You want the bull to be "working" for you and "earning his keep".

Keep the bull ! The lease deal sounds pretty good - even a loaner deal - maybe trade his services for some hay/grain or fencing. In most farming communities there will be a few people that just don't have the number of cows to justify keeping a bull (or may not have the necessary cash to purchase) - check with your local feed dealers / agr. agent to see if they know of anyone looking for a bull.

I would use him then sell him. Collecting semen would be far more expensive than buying semen. If he is free, use him. you might want to sell him or trade for another bull with different genetics but if you got him, use him