Any one live in modulars/double-wides???

Help Support CattleToday:

LRAF

Reaction score
Wondering if any one has bought one of the factory direct homes from Champion? And if so how good they have held up?

Over the years I have researched double wides of all models and never have proceeded with one-we looked at one last year and for a new home pretty crappy made-read online reviews and it scares u-I'm still holding out for a stick build house I guess-we live in a single wide and it's a house that we have done a lot to over the years-they don't make your land worth more like a house does-they depreciate like a car-a lot of people have them because they are easy and relatively inexpensive-but they are cheaply made many issues with roofs leaking and floors etc do the research and decide

In 37 years of being a plumbing contractor, I have never seen one that the people that bought it were satisfied with what they got.
Never been on a project that went as planned.
Have seen front doors on the back. The companies are glad to take them back when something is wrong, "We'll just build you a new one to replace it, (with the door in the right place, or the kitchen where it was supposed to be)but you must realize it will take 8 months or more to build. Maybe you should just live with what this one is."
What do you do? They made you pay half before they started, got the other half before they delivered, and they aren't gonna' be in a hurry to correct any problems, and you're making house payments on a home you don't have.
Something broke? No problem, just hire someone to fix it and they can send us a bill. We'll never pay, but they can send us a bill. After all, it's under warranty.
Leave a 6 day home and the dishwasher fitting cracks and ruins all carpet and flooring, as well as the bottom of the cabinets? No problem, of course we just can warranty the broken fitting. It cost $2.50 at Home Depo, just invoice us after you fix it. After all, it's under our warranty.