which breed????

Help Support CattleToday:

pruss06

Reaction score
I'm looking at three different options on what breed to start with on my herd. I'm just starting out and I've researched all the characteristics of many types of cattle and these are the three that I came up with; just having trouble deciding on one to start with. Would like to know what all of you guys think? My choices are: Santa Gertrudis, Red Angus, Brangus.
I live in Texas so I need a cow that can handle the climate and conditions here.
Thanks for all your input!!!~ :D

pruss06":18btpqww said:
Would like to know what all of you guys think? My choices are: Santa Gertrudis, Red Angus, Brangus.
I live in Texas so I need a cow that can handle the climate and conditions here.
Thanks for all your input!!!~ :D
In the area of Texas that you are in I would go with the Brangus cows and use a Red Angus bull on them.

well, from the non-angus bench.......brangus or gert with a hereford (preferably polled) bull

For comercial herd angus cows with hereford bulls. Or my favorite angus cows with angus bulls.

Brangus cows w/ red angus bull.

not herefords, especially if your south of central tx. Unless you pamper them day and night like many of these guys on the board, they won't hold up well in south texas climate.

angus are better than hereford but the same problem exists. an example : in Maverick county, roughly 20 miles from the mexican border, our two registered angus bulls were either laying under trees or standing in the tanks almost every time we saw them... thought they were queers. The breed as a whole is proven to be much more heat-sensitive than say a Brahma-influenced animal. If you want a good herd that stays alive in texas you need either brahma or longhorn influence- and don't let anyone tell you you can't make money with longhorns.

TxStateCowboy":3o9srb57 said: