Where to Keep Tractor

Help Support CattleToday:

mml373

Reaction score
I am a new farmer...and the past few years I've had someone else cut hay for me, which I keep for winter stockpile for a modest sheep operation I'm running. I am having an awful time getting someone to cut hay for me this year, and am considering just biting the bullet on a tractor and implements.

Unfortunately my farm did not come with a nice, enclosed shop with concrete floor where I could store a machine and implements. Having such a shop constructed is not in the budget for at least another few years. I do need a way to cut my hay and do other farm chores such as spreading fertilizer, so if I had that money available it would go to a tractor. I'll probably end up setting aside some acreage to produce hay for market to help pay down a tractor loan, though may need to improve pastures a bit to produce hay that's more marketable. (My sheep and cows love my grass...but maybe something different is more marketable? I need to do that research).

Is it acceptable to house a shiny, new, $80,000 tractor in an open-face shed for a few years till I can afford to have a proper shop built? Building already exists on the property, and I can afford to do fix-ups to help keep things dry and out of the weather, as much as possible. My main concern about leaving the tractor in a relatively open building is rodents chewing on wires/plastics. I have cats. Wondering how I can further mitigate this and what other issues I need consider. No climate control in the facility--it's a rock floor but is subject to temperature and humidity fluctuations as weather changes. Thanks for any helpful replies.

Unfortunately my farm did not come with a nice, enclosed shop with concrete floor where I could store a machine and implements.
Our sheds have dirt floors and no heat. And none of our machinery requires DEF.
(My sheep and cows love my grass...but maybe something different is more marketable?