Whats the health system like in your country?

Help Support CattleToday:

Australian Cattleman

Reaction score
Tenterfield,New England Region NSW,Australia
I'm a registered nurse that works in an 18 bed rural hospital thats busy most of the time. Most of our presentations to our hospital need not present with all the minor ailments that they do. Many people these days have lost the ability to do simple first aid before they race to the hospital. I have been hit by patients/clients in our ED. I now just call the police if it looks like trouble.The head office of the area Health Service is about 7 hours away from our hospital. Not very satisfactory. Each of our Australian states looks after their own health systems. There have been moves to have the one system nationwide which would be great as the federally run health system in our nation's capital is excellent. We are only ten miles from the state border,the health system is different over there. Next year our nurses registration will one nationwide fee.
We have far too many people that don't have private health insurance in our country. Living out in the country it is essential to have private health insurance because it allows you choice of care if you need to be sent off to a larger centre.
Nursing these days is no longer an enjoyable profession as it used to be because of the continual threat of litigation.
Let me have others views on their health systems etc.
Colin

Ours needs a major overhaul. Just to many hogs at the trough to see it happening. The best thing we could do is vote out every congressman and senator and impose term limits of the next round of elected swine.
You have forgein nationals getting free care and hard working Americans getting none.