What market should I shoot for?

Help Support CattleToday:

ManyHorses

Reaction score
Hi Everybody... I'm new to the group and this is my first post. I'm actually a commodities trader specializing in cattle and grains but I also have some experience in raising cattle and horses.

I've been buying prime grassland in central Missouri and plan to start a new Angus or Brangus operation beginning April 1st of 2005.

Question: Given the cattle numbers and prices today, and looking forward to getting cattle on the ground about April and keeping them about 8 months... My own inclination is to buy 400# steers, but what market segment would you suggest I shoot for?

Thanks much, Richard

Is your question what market weight you should sell at?

No... Given the great growing conditions I have, what kind of stock should I start with... 400# steers for sale to ranchers looking for 750# for over the next winter, cow/calf pairs to later split and send mama to slaughter and calve for replacement, registered stock, bred heifers... those kinds of considerations.

I consider myself a 'grassman' - I can't see any profitability in wintering over stock in Missouri and would rather use the time to rebuild the pastures for the next spring and have even better herd results.

Thanks again, Richard

Stockers, heifers or steers doesn't matter. Rotationally grze them then ship them when the growth slump hits your grass.

dun

Thanks Dun,

I'm not yet familiar with the area enough to know when the grass may get 'down'... and that time may be different than market prices dictate because everybody else is doing the same.

To extend the season when should I be buying hay - the best 'bang for the buck' in terms of TDN and weight gain?

You seem kinda close by me in the Eldon area... Thanks, Richard