Tractor question - please give me some advice

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
Want to purchase a tractor and only want to do it once. I'm not brand particular but have some pre-conceived ideas.

I have 90 acres that I will be turning from row crop to pasture and hay over the next several years and want to be able to mow, fertilize, bale hay, and grade the ruts in the lane. I want to be able to use the loader to carry/stack round bales. Probably want a post hole digger as well.

I feel that an older diesel tractor would suit me better than a gas powered one and I think that 40+ horsepower would be necessary. The more the better.

How important is it to have 4x4? How old is too old? Do the number of hours count more than the age of the tractor?

I have some experience with tractors but never really paid that much attention to what HP they were. I used them mostly for shredding pasture.

I'm also a little cash strapped so I am looking in the $7,000 range. Lower if possible. Is it even possible at that price? I've looked at tractor house but don't honestly know how to compare a JD 2020 to a JD 3010.

Thanks for looking and for your advice.

If you don;t have a serious mud or snow season 4wd would be on the nice but not required list. A minimum of 50 hp but 75 would be better. The compare tractors this link will help: http://www.tractordata.com/

It is hard to find a round baler around here that will run on a 50 horse, so i second a 75 horse would be better. We dont have 4x4 but have had to fall neighbors to pull us out before with theirs. As far as price goes, dad bought a jd 75 horse for 3000$ last year. Youll probably find a better price locally than on tractor house.