Tracking your herd

Help Support CattleToday:

jwggriff

Reaction score
Can I get some ideas from anyone on what is used to keep up with what inventory you have in your herd? What calf is born to what cow? Which bull used? etc.... Is there a good computer software to use, or what? I only have 13 head, but with five new calves born this year, and needing to register them I'm not sure what I need to do next. I have Registered Texas Longhorns, so their association wants pictures of calf, with brand and ID number... Being new at this I'm still learning the cattle business, and now must also learn the paperwork involved. Any help would be appreciated.

I keep a note book and a pen in my truck when a calve is born i write down the date, sex, weight, ID number of the cow. Make up a ear tag for the calve and ear tag it while i am at it.

jwggriff":2w2m3sa5 said:
Can I get some ideas from anyone on what is used to keep up with what inventory you have in your herd? What calf is born to what cow? Which bull used? etc.... Is there a good computer software to use, or what? I only have 13 head, but with five new calves born this year, and needing to register them I'm not sure what I need to do next. I have Registered Texas Longhorns, so their association wants pictures of calf, with brand and ID number... Being new at this I'm still learning the cattle business, and now must also learn the paperwork involved. Any help would be appreciated.

I know there's good software available for record keeping. Your local county agent can steer you to a good one. Many people on this forum use professionally produced programs. Others, including me, have made their own spreadsheet using Lotus or Excel. Seems to me that, considering the size of you operation, a simple spreadsheet including the information that you want to track would work well.