Starting on my own- Have Questions!

Help Support CattleToday:

mjlabs

Reaction score
Hello, My names Mark and I live in Central Illinois on our family farm. I myself have only a few acres of land however I have access to more pasture if needed. I have raised several types of animals before so I do know the basics of animal care. I do not plan on showing cattle or need any champion bloodlines. Sorry if I ask alot of questions but I'm new to raising cattle and dont want to just jump in without knowing all I can. At this time I'm just looking for one or two heifers to start out with. I am able to pasture them with a bull when it comes time to have her bred. I was looking at the market reports at the local sale barn and dont understand the price. For example, one large feeder heifer was 440lb at an average price of $186. Is that the cost per 100lbs, for example, or just the cost for the heifer....surely not for that price??? What can I expect to pay approx. out the door for one or two heifers? Next what breed or cross breed would you recommend for grazing, where I live,ease of calving etc? I believe most farmers around here have angus. hereford, simmental crosses. I have more questions but I'll stop here. Thank you in advance for your replies.

Mark,

If I were you I would avoid heifers for now until you get some experience under your belt. Heifers have a much higher probablility of calving problems than cows. I would probably start with a couple of steers to see how things go and to see if you are going to like working with cattle. I would fatten those steer up and sell them, take the proceeds and buy a couple of 5 or 6 year old cows.

I am familiar with your area and the breeds you mentioned all work well in that environment. You will probably get more growth out of a crossbred steer such as an Angus x Simi or an Angus x Herford.