pulling calves

Help Support CattleToday:

daniel.carver

Reaction score
Hi everyone :wave:
I am trying to get ready for the calves. I have 5 heiffers that I'm concerned about. I stopped by & asked the vet about pullers. The OB chain is one of the questions. I have researched on here, & it's difffcult to locate info. I know that there is a specific way to wrap the OB chain around the legs. And to watch for the cow to arch when it is pushing. I watched the vet perform this last year, but still nervous. Is there any pictures & descriptions on CT that I can use? I see alot of post w/problems during calving season & am gettin info there also. (Thanks for sharing.) I'm looking for descriptions, picture would help to. Thanks to all. Dan.

I am no expert, but there are some videos on youtube that may be useful. I just bought some chains myself today. I have 7 that should be having their first calves soon. So I figure if I buy all the stuff, I will not need it! Well atleast I hope that is case.

good luck. Seems to be a lot of good help on here.

A couple of things that frequently don;t get mentyioned is if you have to reach inside more then an half a hands length wear shoulder length OB gloves, keeps the irritation of the tissues down so there will be less swelling. The other is when you're trying to pull by hand to wear clean jersey gloves, surprising how much more traction you can get.

OK, Thanks for the replies.