POLL Cow/calf on small acreage in Texas and deep south?

Help Support CattleToday:

Is the below a true or false statement for the geographical area involved?

• no

Votes: 5 62.5%
  • yes

Votes: 3 37.5%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
There are many different soil types in East Texas and even within each county. Most are loams. Loam is just a term denoting the soil has 3 or more components and the different loams are categorized depending which % of each of sand, silt, or clay makes up the soil. I have a high degree of silt and clay compared to sand. It's officially called the Hatliff-Pluck-Kian (HatA) complex. The Hatliff itself is a well drained deep sandy loam but the HatA complex is poorly drained, low degree slope, high % silt and clay frequently flooded and deemed 'not prime farmland" by NCRS because of the Pluck component.
2 Miles West or North of me, the soil type changes drastically, even tho the location is equally as close to the river as I am.

I think I'm on some kind of fault line. Here at home I can dig 3 post holes, 3' deep, and get 3 distinctly different colors of soil. Also, I'm on mixed soil, but there's deep sand and black gumbo each within less than 5 miles from my house. Driving south on FM362 from Highway 105 you start out on the prairie, with that black clay that sticks to your shoes so nicely when it's wet, and when the weather turns dry it will get cracks you can stick your hand in. After about 5 miles, with very little transition, you'll be in piney woods, with deep sand.

Soil types can change even within a single piece of property of relatively small acreage. Most of mine is a clayey/silt loam that is hard as cement most of the year but all but floats after a long wet month. You can see it 'heave' as you drive across it and you better not travel the same tire tracks more than a couple of times or you will break thru the hard surface and there's no bottom to it.